Keeping Austin Weird

30 Jun

Howdy y’all.  This past weekend was the 9th annual Keep Austin Weird Festival which climaxes with the weirdest 5k road race you’ve ever seen.  You can claim that your town has some odd characters but if your town isn’t Austin, your weirdest townspeople don’t even come close to our just semi-odd Austinites.

Leslie-Austin's most famous cross-dressing homeless man. He's run for Mayor 3 times.

In Austin, expressing yourself is not just encouraged but also celebrated with an entire festival.  As runners, we are all a little odd already.  We trot about in absurdly short shorts, finish 15 mile runs before most people have even woken up, and get just as excited watching a 25 lap race on TV as most Americans get for the Super Bowl.

We Idolize a ‘damn hippie’ who died drunk driving in a car crash!

To give anything less than your best..

Well at the Keep Austin Weird 5k, it’s the perfect time to let your freak flag fly.  They give out free food during the race ( I heard there was ice cream being passed out!), there is a contest for “Best Costume”, and there are no age group awards. It’s a ‘race’ that you don’t race (unless you’re an idiot like me..) Here’s the outfit I decided to run in:

Sexy Jorts ❤

Lookin good bb

I had planned on just ‘going easy’ and ‘enjoying the race’.  But then I remembered, I pretty much only enjoy races when I win.  So I won. In 15:40. Swag.  Here’s some advice: DONT EVER RUN IN JORTS.   Lets just say the chaffing I got was not worth it.

Hot Damn, Girl

My outfit may have been pretty ‘wild’, but my fellow Austinites were a lot more creative than me.

HAWT and HOT at the same time.

It's ok, the guy they ate was an Aggie

If I had kids, I don't think I'd let them anywhere near this guy.

If you’ve ever wanted to run in an outfit weirder than what you already run in, definitely come out to this race next year. Help us Keep Austin Weird.

Notes
– The band “Alpha Rev” played at the festival.  They are great check them out here and support local music:
http://www.myspace.com/alpharev

–  Props to Cate W. for telling me to write about the Keep Austin Weird 5k today as I was sitting around half naked not knowing what to blog about today

– Ryan Fenton, I challenge you to a 5k by the end of the summer.

4 Responses to “Keeping Austin Weird”

  1. Adobe Slabs July 4, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    i saw alpha rev last summer with onerepublic and sara berallis (sp?)! they are pretty damn g.

  2. K.Mitchell July 11, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    What was your time on the 5K?

  3. eatrunswag July 11, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

    15:40

  4. K.Mitchell July 19, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

    Nice.

Leave a Reply

