Cross Country 2011: Tips for Incoming Freshmen Pt. 1

20 Aug

I’ve been quite lazy with my posting lately y’all.  I’m sorry ❤  I was busy driving across the country and turning my swag on in Kansas, Wisconsin, and finally upstate New York. Here, here’s proof:

"1, 2, 3, Not only you and me"- Britney Spears

“1, 2, 3, Not only you and me”- Britney Spears ❤

Anyway, as of yesterday, Cross Country 2011 has officially begun for us Wolverines (Via our first practice yesterday).  We have the largest freshman class we’ve had in a long time, by far.  That inspired this post (or series of posts over the next few days).

NATTY'S, BE READY 4 IT

I made so many mistakes as a freshman.  I’m here to help y’all so you don’t make the same mistakes I did.  I’m going to do a series of posts with tips and advice. Here’s the first installment.

College!! You made it!

TIP NUMBER ONE:  HIGH SCHOOL NEVER HAPPENED

Who cares how fast you were in high school. You’re in college now.  Nobody wants to hear about that time you ‘totally killed that course record at district’.
A.) You run an 8k/10k now (or 4/6k for girls right?), your HS times are irrelevant.
B.) You could have been a national champion in HS but that doesn’t guarantee success in college. Some no-name walk on may just show up and kick your ass.
C.) The Kenyans you’re about to race walked at a faster pace than your PR 5k time when they were 6 year olds making their daily 20 mile trek to school.
D.) DONT, EVER, FOR ANY REASON, wear your high school letter jacket around campus. Earn a college varsity jacket like a real man.

TIP NUMBER TWO: DON’T RACE WORKOUTS TO IMPRESS THE COACH/UPPERCLASSMEN

While being one of the top runners on your team the first week in September may seem super cool, it’s not much fun when you’re injured and not on the travel squad in November when the real racing occurs.  I’ve definitely had difficulty not going too hard too soon but I think I’ve finally got the hang of it.  Your upperclassmen, if they are any good, will warn you about the dangers of overdoing it in the early season. Listen to them. They’ve been there, done that.

Don't be like this guy (drinking and driving is bad)

TIP NUMBER THREE: DON’T DATE A GIRL ON THE TEAM AS A FRESHMAN

First of all, you probably shouldn’t date anybody as a freshman. Freshmen girls are all about ‘finding themselves’ through a series of 4 lokos and frat guys.  You want to get cheated on or dumped? Then date a freshman.  But def. don’t date a freshman on your team while you’re a freshman.  Anything goes wrong in that relationship, and it will I guarantee you, and voila the whole girls team in your class hates you.  Plus, unless you have some ‘special equipment’ you probably don’t want the girls on your team discussing your performances off the track.

If any of y’all wanna ‘holla at me’ though, let me know 😉      Just kidding I’m 20, I do not wish to be with you during your first time drinking. I don’t wanna come visit you in your dorm. I don’t wanna go to meet ‘lax bros’ and go to the ‘chill frat bro house’.

OFF LIMITS GUYZ.

More tips to come in the following days…
EAT RUN SWAG.

4 Responses to “Cross Country 2011: Tips for Incoming Freshmen Pt. 1”

  1. amw2829 August 21, 2011 at 2:56 am #

    Well this was informative.

  2. hawtgil222 August 21, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    LOL. my fave was the last part. “lax bros” lOLzzZ sor funny. (and true)

  3. Brandon Cooper August 21, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    In general, don’t date teammates ever. If it works out (and let’s face it, that’s not likely), great for you, but odds are you’ll end up screwed over and on the same team as your ex. Going to practice at 7 a.m. to see your ex every morning has got to really suck.

  4. Señor Queso September 2, 2011 at 3:40 am #

    those girls are made of cheese! that’s cool unless they’re on a XC scholarship…in which case…what the hell?

Leave a Reply

