NCAA XC- Countdown to the Big Dance: 6 DAYS

16 Nov

Howdy.  Long time no see. Ironic what my last blog post was about eh? I’m not sure I’m even going to touch on that one, that kid is taking enough shit from every running message board in existence.

Anyway–

It seems like just the other day we were at camp getting lost on a 12 mile run and finding our assistant coach in his van 17 miles later.  But alas, we have finally reached the final week of the season.  Just 6 days until the 2011 NCAA Division One Cross Country Championships.  After 3 absolutely miserable, pitiful, and disastrous seasons, the Wolverine men have finally punched a ticket to the Big Dance.

As you can see, Coach Gibby was super happy

Here’s where I’ll make my excuse for infrequent and sporadic posting on this blog since school has started:
I finally, through better sleep/dietary decisions/smarter training, turned myself into a runner who actually was of use to his team.  With my first two years of college being a major disappointment (running-wise at least) it’s satisfying to see a season in which I placed 30 places higher than I ever have in a Big 10 meet, 40 places higher in the regional meet, and although xc times are nearly irrelevant I shaved 37 secs off my 8k and 63 secs off my 10k.

Enough about me though,  I know many of you readers can relate to experiencing the fruits of a successful season.  For all of you that have meets left, whether it be college or high school, the championship meets are the perfect way to end the season.  You’ve trained all year for this, and whether you’ve had a successful or a terrible season this is the meet where you can truly show what you’re made of. Plus, you know the saying, You’re only as good as your last race….

In the days leading up to the big meet, I’ll be doing a daily blog covering some of the recent running news and giving updates of the Michigan Wolverines as we get ready to kick some ass.

News of the Day: SAVE UMD MEN’S XC/TRACK AND FIELD

#SaveUMDTF&XC

I’m sure many of you have already received a Facebook invite to the group (6,000 members and growing! Great job spreading the word guys!).  If you haven’t heard, here’s the information posted on the group wall:

“Due to UMD’s budget crisis, Kevin Anderson announced today to the entire track and field family that all three seasons of Men’s running (XC, Indoor, and Outdoor Track and Field) are being recommended to be cut from the University Athletics.  This team’s history runs as deep as the university itself.  Dating all the way back to 1923, the running program boasts 8 NCAA champions, innumerable All-Americans (most recently, our very own Dwight Barbiaz, high jumper 2011), and over 50 ACC Team Titles.

The cross country and track and field programs here at Maryland are very unique; we truly are a family.  Taking away the guys’ side is like taking away our very brothers.  Cutting entire sports teams, especially those which have won so many titles, is not the solution to the financial problem.

Time to rally, Terps!  Voice your support and help save the team!!

President Loh’s email: wdloh@umd.edu

 Kevin Anderson’s email: kevina@umd.edu”

The official University President’s statement can be found here as well: http://www.umd.edu/UMDnews/pres_message_111411.cfm

Running with the Wolverines- 6 Days Out

While obviously I’m not going to divulge any workouts or information my coach would prefer not to be on the internet, I can give a little bit of insight to how we are preparing for the big day.

1.)  While they have taken a lot of crap from us, I’d like to send a big shout-out to the two freshmen that will be traveling with us to Terre Haute.  One of them will be running and the other will be the alternate.  They have both grown in maturity since the start of the season and the national experience as freshmen will be very valuable to them in the future when they return.  To any freshmen who have been lucky enough to make it this far in the season, give yourself a a pat on the back.  Obviously you read my freshmen tips earlier in the year 😉

Mason "Big Bird" Ferlic. Yes, he's as awkward as he looks ❤

2.) THE DEVIL IS IN THE DETAILS.  Everything counts this week.  Hydrate. Sleep.  That 8:30 am class going to prevent you from getting the required amount of sleep? Skip it, rest up for nattys (your coach can’t legally tell you that, but I am, and I think that’s ok).  Let’s be real, we’re Athlete-Students this week.

See ya tomorrow,

EATRUNSWAG

2 Responses to “NCAA XC- Countdown to the Big Dance: 6 DAYS”

  1. Eileen Schaller November 16, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    Stellar season, Zach!!! Will be praying for an excellent race on 11/22, for you and the team. GO BLUE. I was very sad to learn about the Terps. Many colleges/universities are doing this..BUT NEVER the football team. Your blogs continue to reflect your excellent writing skills. When will you be writing a book??

  2. catewestenhover November 18, 2011 at 4:24 am #

    I’m going to do what everyone else on the internet is doing right now – ignore everything else news-y in this post and talk about Lukas.

    As in, what the hell, LV, did you mean anything you said?! Go back and read his quotes about how much he loves Oregon and ” I can’t help but know that I’m running not just for my own self, but that I’m representing something so much more.”

    I don’t really care that he quits running, just his timing ultimately >.< Oh well. Guess I'm not one of the Oregon people he deserted.

Leave a Reply

