Valentines Weekend Track Re-Cap!!!!11!!1!!

14 Feb

Hey y’all, long time no see.  I didn’t post Friday because I was off actually running a meet of my own out in the middle of nowhere Ohio.  28 second 5k PR for a decent 14:17.  By no means am I “good” yet, but at least maybe I have a little more credibility as a blogger now that I’m not a complete sack of shit on the track.

Anyway, hot damn this was a crazy weekend for track and field.  Here’s my take on what went down:

25 year old Kenyan signs up for Milrose 5k as a high schooler and breaks HS National Record

Even if he is under 20, he's not even within A MINUTE of the Kenyan Junior indoor 5k record.

The Stormin’ Mormon Broke the Collegiate Mile Record

This man may be proof that the mormons may actually be God's chosen ones.

I know I’ve made religion jokes and such before, but I actually have nothing negative to say about this dude. He’s awesome, 3:54 is insane, and maybe he’ll be a big part of the future of American Mid-Distance running.

Which leads me to my next headline..

Alan Webb runs slow.  Again.

http://www.flotrack.org/coverage/247596-Indoor-Track-and-Field-Season-2012/video/604355-Alan-Webb-600m-Time-Trial

In related news, a freshman on my team ran faster than this on Friday and placed 4th. In a meet in the middle of nowhere Ohio.

Matt Mr.-Steal-Yo-Girl Centrowitz once again gives us a reason not to lose faith in American distance running

Hold. My. D^ck.

Witness.

THERE ARE FOUR F*&CKING COLLEGIATE RUNNERS UNDER 13:20 IN THE 5K RIGHT NOW.

SWAG.

BEARD SWAG

Just read that headline again.  Dude. Holy shit.  If the race goes out hot at NCAA’s, a 13:30 might not place you in the top 6.

Peter Pan runs Rupp-Certified 2-mile record

There are endless amounts of pics like this online. Thanks google

Rumors are that the pollen count inside the facility was low enough for him to toe the line.
(good job bro, I’m actually impressed with this time ❤ )

HONORABLE MENTIONS:
-Cam Levins 3:57, this kid has depth.
-Ryan Hill 7:43.  Holy tits.

V-Day post probably coming up tomorrow, and an interview with the one of the top USA jr runners coming soon

8 Responses to “Valentines Weekend Track Re-Cap!!!!11!!1!!”

  1. cheserek February 14, 2012 at 1:37 am #

    you’re just bitter because cheserek is faster than you

    • eatrunswag February 14, 2012 at 4:45 am #

      You’re just bitter because you have a butter face.

  2. Psalty February 14, 2012 at 1:51 am #

    Definitely giving Robby Creese a shoutout. Penn State freshman broke 4:00 in the mile, running 3:59 in just his second mile race of his collegiate career. He may also be remembered for breaking the collegiate 1000 record in his first ever collegiate race. Just getting him some recognition as I raced (about 400 meters behind him) in high school. Respect!

  3. Derek Rubis February 14, 2012 at 2:03 am #

    You forgot about me!!! Pr in the 5K, sub-20 min for the first time in about couple years, 19:52 and I also ran the 3K in the same meet, 11:32 at UW-Platteville Invite

  4. Chris February 14, 2012 at 2:45 am #

    If you’re gonna’ knock Cheserek for being older than most of the kids he’s competing against, it’s worth mentioning that Batty is too.

    • eatrunswag February 14, 2012 at 4:44 am #

      One of my housemates actually mentioned this too. I determined that I really don’t have anything against the older collegiate runners and the Kenyan collegiate runners (for example I am a fan of Lawi, Lenny, Sambu). Older high school kenyans, however, I am not a fan of. No real way to defend my views on this without sounding like a hypocrite I guess, but that’s just the way it is.

  5. catewestenhover February 14, 2012 at 4:40 am #

    Is Batty one of those guys who came back from his two year mission?

    CHEATER.

    • eatrunswag February 14, 2012 at 4:46 am #

      I believe his first collegiate xc race was in 2005 lol. Hey, he did it for Jesus, Jesus grants mormons an extra two years of collegiate running. It’s in the Bible. The Mormon Edition.

Leave a Reply

