EatRunSwag Interview: Tulsa’s Chris O’Hare, One to Watch this Weekend.

7 Mar

I took a 2 week Hiatus from blogging to focus on my conference meet and to enjoy spring break. In case y’all were wondering, Big 10’s were decent for me. Not quite what I wanted, but a step forward.

On the bring of being "good", but not quite there. A ways to go.

Anyways, here is an interview I did with Tulsa’s Chris O’Hare. If you haven’t heard of him, well you haven’t been paying attention to the mile lists because this dude has been up there for a while now.  This weekend I have a feeling he’ll be one of the favorites for the mile, go get em dude.

It says on your Tulsa bio that your biggest ambition would be to drive a Formula One car, tell me a little more about that:

Formula1 is always just something that my older brother and I have been interested in since we were kids. Everything about F1 is just awesome.

I have no idea what this means. Is this an xbox controller?

So you are not originally from the US, what is your favorite state in the US so far?


As much as I love Tulsa and Oklahoma, I am a huge fan of Austin, Texas. If I was to live anywhere in the U.S. Austin would be the winner.

You, my friend, have very good taste. Best city in the country. Keep Austin Weird!

Favorite Movie?
Close call between The fighter and Warrior

You forgot this one. "Never Back Down, Chris. It's all on you. It always has been."

Favorite Athlete?
I am a big fan of Leo Manzano and Andrew Wheating.

This guy pisses excellence.

Favorite Band?
I like most bands and most kinds of music. Oklahoma has changed me and I now actually quite like country music believe it or not.

The best thing to ever come out of Oklahoma ❤

Running Q’s:

How did you start running?


I started running at school when I wanted to run with my brothers and his friends at their cross country practice but I was too young. My mum spoke to the coach and she let me join in practice and I just had a thing for the longer distances despite being hopeless at sprinting.

It's ok, most of us are hopeless at sprinting. Me especially.

What has been your most memorable running moment so far?
My most memorable running moment was last year when I first broke 4 minutes in the mile. It was great to have my whole team around to celebrate with me.

BEAST FVCKING MODE.

You’ve had an impressive season thus far and obviously you were a pretty instrumental in Tulsa’s first conference championship. How did it feel to get that win as a team? 

To win the conference Championship was amazing. Having the team win well and truly surpasses the emotions of individual titles. Houston win every year indoor and out so it was something really special to be able to dethrone them with such a small team. When you are missing people in so many events it took a colossal effort on everyones behalf to take that win. Everyone on the team grew a pair and got after it and I have never been more proud to be part of this team.

GINGER SIGHTING (CARL STONES)

This weekend is NCAA’s, how do you prepare yourself for a meet like this? (special preparations this week? Tapering? Mentally?)

Preparing for the NCAAs is weird. We try to stay calm and prepare for this just like we prepare for every other race but I can’t help realize the importance of this weekend. I get more and more nervous every day until I actually get to the venue and all my nerves disappear and I am in race mode.
It doesn’t take me too much to get mentally prepared for a race. Once I get into the final quarter of my warm up I am ready to go and nothing can phase me really. I know that with the strength of the big man upstairs I can give everything I have got and if that isn’t enough then I need to go back to training and work harder. With that strength I am not afraid to hurt.

Last year you were a runner-up at the NCAA, which is quite impressive. What are your goals for this year? An NCAA title?
This year I am definitely fitter and stronger and so hopefully I will be able to pull off the national title. After Millrose games I definitely have a renewed sense of determination and fight.

Some pretty manly men in this pic. The manliest of men.

Obviously I’d imagine your main focus is on NCAA right now but do you have any aspirations for this summer’s Olympics?
I am definitely looking forward to this summer as it is such a big year. Hopefully I can get down under the A standard and give myself a good chance of selection.

We hope to see you there bud.

One Response to “EatRunSwag Interview: Tulsa’s Chris O’Hare, One to Watch this Weekend.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. » Finally…Thursday? The Winged Foot - March 8, 2012

    […] There’s a new Eatrunswag blog post up! I love this blog, Zach Ornelas really does a good job writing about fun and interesting topics. Find out which miler he interviewed before NCAAs here. […]

Leave a Reply

